K: Hunger Games – How Good Is It?

This movie did it all. I laughed. I (almost) cried. I cheered. I screamed (just a little). Every bit of emotion was squeezed into the 144 minutes that are presented in Gary Ross’ screen adaptation of Suzanne Collins’ bestseller: The Hunger GamesThere are not many movies recently that have been worth clapping for afterwards, but this warranted a loud round of applause from the theater as it drew to a close.

The question has changed from “Is It Any Good?” to “How Good Is It?”

CHARACTER PORTRAYAL

Of all the characters, I LOVED Jennifer Lawrence as the hawk-eyed heroine. Katniss was brash, courageous and caring all at the same time. Plus she looked gorgeous throughout the film, even when she wasn’t “dolled up” for her public Capitol TV appearances. As B mentioned in his review, the fiery costumes left a little to be desired but the young actress was stunning nonetheless.

Likewise, I hope that Woody Harrelson gets enough credit for his excellent portrayal of Haymitch Abernathy. He was spot-on in the look and feel that I got from the book, and provided most of the humor for this at times, tense film.

Lenny Kravitz‘ performance as the stylist, Cinna, and Elizabeth Banks‘ portrayal of the powdered Effie Trinket were refreshing, as well.

I was not quite as blown away by Josh Hutcherson as Peeta Mellark, but he put in a solid effort opposite Lawrence’s near perfect performance.

The one character I would’ve loved to see more of was the crowd’s favorite, as well – the hunk at home. Every time that Gale (Miley Cyrus’ beau, Liam Hemsworth) appeared while the Games were taking place, he looked dismayed and that got a rise out of the sold-out auditorium. Laughter and snickers ensued, but I honestly just felt bad for him.

 

STICKING TO THE SCRIPT

From the very start, the action and camera-work is fast-paced and gives a sense of urgency. I felt the pain of Katniss leaving her sister and the tension that the entirety of District 12 felt. That feeling is exactly what I felt when I was reading the bestselling novel.

The film went surprisingly quick, but director Ross jam-packed his blockbuster with all the right things. The main plot points were kept intact, while successfully keeping it under the boredom-inducing 3 hour mark by over 30 minutes . The run time is 142 minutes.

OVERALL

The characters and the plot kept me wanting more. The actors shined through the plethora of interesting roles showcased in the first of three box office beauties (hopefully). I have no complaints about the film besides the fact that I can’t wait to see the sequel and I have to wait a year (at least) for it to come to fruition.

Oh well, in the meantime the next two books will have to do.

My score: A

The only bad part or mistake of my movie-going experience was that I drank an entire large beverage and had to miss a tiny segment of the scene where Peeta and Katniss chat on the roof, the night before the epic start of the 74th Hunger Games.

Don’t make that mistake or another by missing the chance to see The Hunger Games in all its wonder.

Those who have seen it: What did you think? Do you agree with me that it was a major success or completely disagree? Tell K&B why!

Those who haven’t seen it: Get off your couch and go see it. And then tell me what you think in the comment section below!

One thought on “K: Hunger Games – How Good Is It?

  1. Pingback: B’s First Half Update: The Best so Far and Most Anticipated « K&B Hype the Movies

Leave a Reply

